Faith Family and Feathers

Fun on the farm with faith and family

VACATION

Leave a comment

I won’t be posting a menu for the next few weeks because I’ll be out-of-town on a bit of a vacation!  I’m quite excited about it!  It’s not like were going to Disney World or Hawaii or anything like that but it will be a fun trip none the less.

My mother lives 12 hours away in Colorado and once a year in the summer me and the kids (DH stays home to build roads) make the journey to see her.  She also comes here once or twice a year so we do get to see each other some but not as much as we’d like.  We don’t really have the money to fly there so we make due with the drive and just plan on staying at least a week.  

Keeping two kids occupied on a boring 12 hour drive can be a challenge but we’ve done it so much we’ve learned a few things to keep us occupied.  We play hangman, the ABC game, and a few other topical games and   listen to books on tape (the Hardy boys or Nancy Drew).

I’ve  given up on packing lunches to eat.  I still pack some munchies but the fact is it is a nice break to pull off the road and stop for a few minutes to have a bite to eat.  Everyone can stretch their legs and go potty too.  We just try to make the drive fun and this year we got a new car with a DVD player built right in!  Now the only argument left will be which movie they will watch.

The long drive is so worth it.  It’s so good to see my mom and my step dad.  I love them and miss the a lot.

Look out mom and  Doug here we come!

 

Author: faithfamilyandfeathers

Hi everyone. My name is Brenda. I am 41 and live in South Dakota with my 4 children (19, 17, 12 boys & 6 finally a girl!) and my husband. We have been married for 20 years and lived in the country for the last 16 years. My husband owns a road contrating business and I quit my job as an accountant 10 years ago to manage the bookkeeping side of his business and to spend more time with my family. We raise chickens and turkeys and just added ducks, bunnies and nubian milk goats (I love them!) the kids, the bunnies will be in (or near) their baskets on Easter morning.) I like about anything that makes us more self sufficient. I beliving in making as much of my families food from scratch as possible to control what goes into it. I try to reuse things as much a possible to reduce waste. With my last child I discovered the ease of cloth diapers and fell in love. I made all of her diapers and now give cloth diapers to all my friends having babies. I like crafting in general. Sewing, crochet, needle point, and recently I learned the art of soap making (love it). My husband and I both enjoy home improvement and remodeling. HGTV is my favorite TV station. I keep a nice size garden and like to freeze and can good things to enjoy all winter long. This year I'm planting sugar beets and will try to make my own sugar (without all the chemicles). My husband is a hunter so we enjoy making jerkey from the venison he gets. I'm active in our community by helping in the school and leading Bible study at church. I just love people and love to talk. I hope you enjoy this site and find many great tidbits related to faith, family or feathers. God Bless, Brenda

Leave a Reply

