Faith Family and Feathers

Fun on the farm with faith and family

Lord, help me to trust you when I don’t understand.

Leave a comment

The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of this law.  Deuteronomy 29:29

Junker car

My 18 yr old son has 2 vehicles.  One is a pick up that is currently torn apart because he has a plan of fixing it up and painting it really fancy.  The other one is a real “junker” just an old Honda that he bought cheap for the low gas mileage.  Yesterday his  “junker” decided it didn’t have another trip in it.  It died on his way to work and he needed to call for a ride the rest of the way.  His pickup is in pieces and undriveable until he has some time and money to put it back together.  So he asked if we’d cosign a loan for him to get a different vehicle.  Since he moved out as soon as he turned 18 and his taking care of himself, he really doesn’t have room for another payment, (he’s still paying on the pickup he already has, the one that’s not driveable) so we refused.  He looked defeated. We could so easily have said yes and made his problems go away.  We could have said “don’t worry son, here’s the money, go get what you need”  And don’t kid yourself, I WANTED TO!  It’s just so hard to watch your kids struggle.  But what will they learn if you fix their problems for them?  Will they ever be able to manage their own finances if we’re always “kicking” in? Ever so reluctantly, he agreed that the best course of action was to get his current pick up put back together (maybe not fancy) so that he can at least have some wheels.  Then once he gets his tools paid off (he’s a mechanic and has gotten in deep to the Snap-on tool guy) or his current pick up paid off then he can look into something else.  I know he doesn’t understand why we don’t fix this for him.  I know he thinks we’re being mean and thinks we’re trying to punish him for something.  But someday he will see that this was the best decision.

Don’t we sometimes feel this way when God doesn’t answer our requests with a resounding “YES”.  Do we feel that he is punishing us for something? That He is being “mean”? God tells us “no” or “not yet” because there is something greater going on that we can’t see.  In the same way, when we tell our children “no” or “not yet”, there is a greater reason than they can understand right now.

LORD, help me to trust you more and to understand that when you tell me “no” or “not yet” it is because there is a bigger better plan in action.

Author: faithfamilyandfeathers

Hi everyone. My name is Brenda. I am 41 and live in South Dakota with my 4 children (19, 17, 12 boys & 6 finally a girl!) and my husband. We have been married for 20 years and lived in the country for the last 16 years. My husband owns a road contrating business and I quit my job as an accountant 10 years ago to manage the bookkeeping side of his business and to spend more time with my family. We raise chickens and turkeys and just added ducks, bunnies and nubian milk goats (I love them!) the kids, the bunnies will be in (or near) their baskets on Easter morning.) I like about anything that makes us more self sufficient. I beliving in making as much of my families food from scratch as possible to control what goes into it. I try to reuse things as much a possible to reduce waste. With my last child I discovered the ease of cloth diapers and fell in love. I made all of her diapers and now give cloth diapers to all my friends having babies. I like crafting in general. Sewing, crochet, needle point, and recently I learned the art of soap making (love it). My husband and I both enjoy home improvement and remodeling. HGTV is my favorite TV station. I keep a nice size garden and like to freeze and can good things to enjoy all winter long. This year I'm planting sugar beets and will try to make my own sugar (without all the chemicles). My husband is a hunter so we enjoy making jerkey from the venison he gets. I'm active in our community by helping in the school and leading Bible study at church. I just love people and love to talk. I hope you enjoy this site and find many great tidbits related to faith, family or feathers. God Bless, Brenda

Leave a comment