Faith Family and Feathers

Fun on the farm with faith and family

FOURTH OF JULY AT THE LAKE – SO MUCH FUN!

Leave a comment

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July weekend! Ours was filled with fun and excitement. Almost too filled. It has taken me 3 days to recover from all of the company and activities! We went to our lake cabin (trailer) for the fourth and enjoyed boating, jet skiing, swimming, family and lets not forget the food! I love pot luck type events when I get to experience other people’s cooking and recipes. I always leave with a new favorite. (I’ll soon be posting one very delicious recipe for a broccoli salad that was brought. It was really yummy.)

The cost of fireworks absolutely makes me cringe and I don’t spend a lot of money on fireworks for my kids.  Actually It would be a lot less if was totally my decision but my husband, being a boy at heart, loves to light fireworks too.  Anyway, you can imagine my children’s delight when their aunt showed up at the lake with two huge boxes overflowing with fireworks!  WOW!

The kids love to set up iron pipes and shoot off their bottle rocket over the lake.  I love how the photo captures the path of the rocket.

My favorite part of fireworks is when it gets dark and we can enjoy the light show.

Fireworks are so pretty over the water. 

People all along the lake were celebrating the holiday too.  We were able to enjoy the light show from their display as well. Again, so pretty over the water.

What did you do this holiday weekend?  How did you celebrate the anniversary of our nations freedom?  I’d love to hear from you!  Please leave a comment and let me know.

Author: faithfamilyandfeathers

Hi everyone. My name is Brenda. I am 41 and live in South Dakota with my 4 children (19, 17, 12 boys & 6 finally a girl!) and my husband. We have been married for 20 years and lived in the country for the last 16 years. My husband owns a road contrating business and I quit my job as an accountant 10 years ago to manage the bookkeeping side of his business and to spend more time with my family. We raise chickens and turkeys and just added ducks, bunnies and nubian milk goats (I love them!) the kids, the bunnies will be in (or near) their baskets on Easter morning.) I like about anything that makes us more self sufficient. I beliving in making as much of my families food from scratch as possible to control what goes into it. I try to reuse things as much a possible to reduce waste. With my last child I discovered the ease of cloth diapers and fell in love. I made all of her diapers and now give cloth diapers to all my friends having babies. I like crafting in general. Sewing, crochet, needle point, and recently I learned the art of soap making (love it). My husband and I both enjoy home improvement and remodeling. HGTV is my favorite TV station. I keep a nice size garden and like to freeze and can good things to enjoy all winter long. This year I'm planting sugar beets and will try to make my own sugar (without all the chemicles). My husband is a hunter so we enjoy making jerkey from the venison he gets. I'm active in our community by helping in the school and leading Bible study at church. I just love people and love to talk. I hope you enjoy this site and find many great tidbits related to faith, family or feathers. God Bless, Brenda

Leave a Reply

