Faith Family and Feathers

Fun on the farm with faith and family

Chicken Pot Pie

Leave a comment

Here is the new recipe I tried on my family last night (Monday).  I was quite tickled to hear that two (my husband and daughter) out of the three who ate it loved it.  My son (a very picky eater and vegetable hater) said it was OK.  He picked out the meat and crust and the vegies went to the chickens.  Here is the recipe if any of you would like to try it.  this only makes a 8X8 pan so if you have a larger family you may want to double it and put it in a larger pan.

Chicken Pot Pie

2 C chopped chicken (I used leftover chicken but can use a couple of fresh chicken breasts)

2 C mixed vegetables  (I used frozen california blend)

Place the meat and vegies in a 8X8 baking dish.

Sauce:

2 T butter

2 T flour

1 C chicken broth

1 C shredded cheese

salt and pepper to taste.

Melt the butter over medium heat, add flour and cook 1 minute.  Slowly add chicken broth, stirring constantly.  Bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat, add salt and pepper to taste and stir in cheese until melted.  Pour over meat and vegetables.

Biscuit Topping (homemade bisucit mix, recipe to follow)

1 C Bisucit Mix

1/2 C grated cheese

1/2 C milk

Stir together all ingredients with a fork until evenly moistened.  Spread thinly over mixture in casserole dish.  Bake at 400 degrees F for 25 – 30 minutes or until topping is golden and filling is bubbly.  Makes 3-4 servings (depending upon the appetite of your eaters.)

 

If you want to take this recipe one step farther you can make your own biscuit mix to use in the topping.  Here is the recipe I used:

Homemade biscuit mix:

5 C flour

1/4 C baking powder

2 T sugar

1 tsp salt

1 C Crisco shortening

Mix together dry ingredient.  Cut in shortening until mixture is crumbly (I put it in my Kitchen Aid mixer and used the wisk beater to blend in the Crisco.  It worked great.).  Will keep for up to 6 weeks in an airtight container.  You can divide it up and freeze it if you don’t think you’ll use it up in 6 weeks.

Author: faithfamilyandfeathers

Hi everyone. My name is Brenda. I am 41 and live in South Dakota with my 4 children (19, 17, 12 boys & 6 finally a girl!) and my husband. We have been married for 20 years and lived in the country for the last 16 years. My husband owns a road contrating business and I quit my job as an accountant 10 years ago to manage the bookkeeping side of his business and to spend more time with my family. We raise chickens and turkeys and just added ducks, bunnies and nubian milk goats (I love them!) the kids, the bunnies will be in (or near) their baskets on Easter morning.) I like about anything that makes us more self sufficient. I beliving in making as much of my families food from scratch as possible to control what goes into it. I try to reuse things as much a possible to reduce waste. With my last child I discovered the ease of cloth diapers and fell in love. I made all of her diapers and now give cloth diapers to all my friends having babies. I like crafting in general. Sewing, crochet, needle point, and recently I learned the art of soap making (love it). My husband and I both enjoy home improvement and remodeling. HGTV is my favorite TV station. I keep a nice size garden and like to freeze and can good things to enjoy all winter long. This year I'm planting sugar beets and will try to make my own sugar (without all the chemicles). My husband is a hunter so we enjoy making jerkey from the venison he gets. I'm active in our community by helping in the school and leading Bible study at church. I just love people and love to talk. I hope you enjoy this site and find many great tidbits related to faith, family or feathers. God Bless, Brenda

Leave a Reply

