Faith Family and Feathers

Fun on the farm with faith and family

Cheesy bacon potato slices – what a delight!

Leave a comment

Last weeks menu included cheesy bacon potato slices for Monday night.  I started making these because my family liked the potato skins from them Schwans truck and I was trying to find a lower cost alternative.  I made these and now my family preferrs them over the Schwans ones.  Here is the recipe complete with pictures.

4-5 medium baking potatoes

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 C shredded cheddar cheese

3 slices bacon

salt and pepper

Select about 4 – 5 medium size white baking potatoe and slice them the long way at about 1/4″ thick.

Place them on a baking sheet and baste them with olive oil on both sides.

Salt and pepper the potato slices.  Shred your cheddar cheese (I prefer to use block cheese but you can use store bought shredded cheese if you want) and mince your bacon (I  cooked my own bacon crispy and then minced it but you can use bacon bits) and sprinkle them evenly on each of the slices.

Place in a 350 degree oven and bake for 15 – 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

Author: faithfamilyandfeathers

Hi everyone. My name is Brenda. I am 41 and live in South Dakota with my 4 children (19, 17, 12 boys & 6 finally a girl!) and my husband. We have been married for 20 years and lived in the country for the last 16 years. My husband owns a road contrating business and I quit my job as an accountant 10 years ago to manage the bookkeeping side of his business and to spend more time with my family. We raise chickens and turkeys and just added ducks, bunnies and nubian milk goats (I love them!) the kids, the bunnies will be in (or near) their baskets on Easter morning.) I like about anything that makes us more self sufficient. I beliving in making as much of my families food from scratch as possible to control what goes into it. I try to reuse things as much a possible to reduce waste. With my last child I discovered the ease of cloth diapers and fell in love. I made all of her diapers and now give cloth diapers to all my friends having babies. I like crafting in general. Sewing, crochet, needle point, and recently I learned the art of soap making (love it). My husband and I both enjoy home improvement and remodeling. HGTV is my favorite TV station. I keep a nice size garden and like to freeze and can good things to enjoy all winter long. This year I'm planting sugar beets and will try to make my own sugar (without all the chemicles). My husband is a hunter so we enjoy making jerkey from the venison he gets. I'm active in our community by helping in the school and leading Bible study at church. I just love people and love to talk. I hope you enjoy this site and find many great tidbits related to faith, family or feathers. God Bless, Brenda

Leave a comment